Understanding Rape Charges in Tennessee
Tennessee law categorizes many types of rape, all of which are charged as felonies. These include:
- Rape, through coercion or force, done against the alleged victim’s will, or through fraud
- Aggravated rape, through coercion, force, a weapon, causing bodily injury, or with the help of another person
- Statutory rape, where the victim is 13 or 14 and the accused is 4 to 10 years older or where the victim is 15 to 17 years old and the accused is 5 to 10 years older
- Mitigated statutory rape, where the victim is 15 to 17 years old and the accused is a minimum of four to five years older
- Aggravated statutory rape, where the victim is 13 to 17 years old and the accused is 10 years older
- Statutory rape by an authority figure, where the victim is 13 to 17 years old and the accused is at least four years older and holds a position of trust or supervision
- Child rape, where the victim is 4 to 12 years old
- Aggravated child rape, where the victim is three years old or less
Tennessee also outlines sexual battery crimes, which can include aggravated sexual battery, as well as sexual battery by an authority figure.
Contact us online or at (423) 799-3030 to discuss your case and legal options today during a FREE consultation.