Understanding Drug Possession Charges in Tennessee
Drug charges in Tennessee will depend on many factors, such as the type of drug found in your possession, the quantity of drugs involved, whether it is your first offense or a repeat offense, and other factors. Simple possession of an illegal drug is the lowest level drug offense, typically charged as a Class A misdemeanor and punishable by up to a year in jail and/or fines up to $2,500.
First and second drug possession charges carry the above misdemeanor penalties, while a third or subsequent drug possession or possession of half an ounce or more of any drug is charged as a felony. A felony is punishable by one to six years in prison and fines up to $3,000. An additional fine up to $10,000 will be levied if your offense occurred within 1,000 feet of a school, park, recreational area, or library.
Marijuana Possession & Drug Paraphernalia
Unlike many other states, Tennessee has not legalized the recreational use of marijuana. You can be charged with a misdemeanor for a first- or second-offense simple possession no matter how small the amount. Furthermore, you can be charged with possession of drug paraphernalia in connection with marijuana, as well as other drugs. Drug paraphernalia can include pipes, bongs, hookahs, rolling papers, roach clips, and more.
Felony Drug Charges
You will be charged with a felony if you are found to be selling or making illegal drugs in Tennessee. The class of felony you will face will depend on the schedule of the drug involved. For example, it is a Class B felony for selling 0.5 grams or more of cocaine, punishable by up to eight years in prison and fines up to $100,000. Trafficking in even larger amounts will result in steeper fines and longer prison sentences.
You Can Rely on Our Legal Team
Drug crimes are serious legal matters that call for serious legal representation from a trusted attorney. Our Chattanooga drug crime lawyers are prepared to work quickly to defend you against all types of drug charges. We know the law, the legal procedures, how to challenge evidence, and how to negotiate and litigate in search of helping resolve your case in the best possible way.
Learn more about how we can help by contacting us at (423) 799-3030.